LisaHillSchoolStuff's Weblog

'If students can't learn the way we teach, we must teach the way they learn' (Tomlinson)

Australian Curriculum English Literature Recommended Book List

Posted by Lisa Hill on May 29, 2011


Australian Children’s Literature is recognised around the world as being rather special, and so with the new Australian Curriculum taking shape, it’s timely to set up a list of recommended titles with which to implement the Literature component of the English curriculum. 

I’ve set up a page where, though comments from visitors to this blog, a list of titles recommended for primary levels Foundation to Year 6, can emerge and be easily updated.  While for me,  literary and aesthetic qualities of the book are a pre-condition for inclusion in this list, I am hoping that suggestions will include links to other areas of the curriculum where they are relevant, and will support the three priorities, Aboriginal and Torres Strait histories and cultures; Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia and Sustainability. 

I am especially keen to hear about titles which originate from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples across Australia. 

Please visit the page and contribute your suggestions by making a comment.

Thanks to Jo Sherrin from the Northern Territory for the idea!

2 Responses to “Australian Curriculum English Literature Recommended Book List”

  1. Deborah Daly said

    I think this is a wonderful idea and I am keen to gain access to the results of this blog. I work in a small rural school as a grade 2/3 class teacher and also have responsibility for curriculum across the school and feel that our library is not as good as it could be.

    • Lisa Hill said

      Welcome, Deborah – thank you for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it:)
      I know I am lucky to work in a large school where there is a great staff to support me, so I’m happy to share my ideas and resources here.
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

