LisaHillSchoolStuff's Weblog

'If students can't learn the way we teach, we must teach the way they learn' (Ignacio Estrada, via Tomlinson)

Learning how to do Wikis

Posted by Lisa Hill on October 15, 2008



Today I finally started Megan Poore’s online course about how to do wikis for education purposes. Megan’s wiki Brush Up is hosted by WetPaint and it comprises some very user-friendly modules that show you how to do it.
Today I worked on module one. I explored my reasons for wanting to use wikis at school, and journalled what I already know about it. (It will be interesting to look back at this, in weeks to come).
I also explored some hosts: Wikispaces, WetPaint and PB Wiki, and used a fabulous site called WikiMatrix to compare them. (All you do is select the ones you want to compare and it creates a matrix comparing all the hosts’ features for you – I wish there were something like this to compare health insurance products!) This is a screen dump of the results.
I already have a very rudimentary LisaHillSchoolStuff site with WikiSpaces so I should probably stick with that and fix it up but I am a bit tempted by WetPaint’s jazzy features!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
