LisaHillSchoolStuff's Weblog

'If students can't learn the way we teach, we must teach the way they learn' (Ignacio Estrada, via Tomlinson)

A Teacher’s Prayer

Posted by Lisa Hill on September 22, 2009


A friend of mine gave me a bookmark with this lovely poem printed on it:

A Teacher’s Prayer

I want to teach my students more than lessons in a book:

I want to teach them deeper things that people overlook –

The value of a rose in bloom, its use and beauty too,

A sense of curiosity to discover what is true;

How to think and how to choose the right above the wrong;

How to live and learn each day and grow up to be strong;

To teach them always how to gain in wisdom and in grace;

So they will someday make the world a brighter, better place;

So let me be a friend and guide to give these minds a start

Upon their way down life ‘s long road, then I’ll have done my part.

By Jill Wolf

 

3 Responses to “A Teacher’s Prayer”

  1. ned said

    This is a comment from Ned, who is a student I know from the 2009 EduBlogs Blogging Challenge. We’ve been chatting about the new iSnack 2.0 (Vegemite) on his blog, and he accidentally wrote his comment on my blog instead of his. Click here to visit his blog!

    this is ned i hate the new vegimite and the name jacob makes fun of it come on i snack 2.0 isnack is bad enough without the 2.0 on it

    This post from Ned has reminded me that I need to add a Comments Policy to this blog. I am going to do that soon because I find it hard to read writing that doesn’t have any punctuation.

  2. Zoe D said

    Wow that is such a wonderful poem !!!!
    I wish I had a book mark like that. :)
    Zoe (5WV)

  3. Lisa Hill said

    Hi, Zoe, I will bring it in to school to show you, and then maybe you could try writing a short poem to make your own bookmarks. They make lovely presents, and you know, *that* time of the year isn’t far away!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.